Mr A Pembleton BEd (Hons) NPQH
'Learning Together to Achieve Forever'


Wrekin View Primary School follows the requirements of the Foundation Stage Curriculum and the National Curriculum.

Within the Foundation Stage Curriculum there are seven areas of learning:

Three prime areas:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Physical Development
  • Communication and Language

Four specific areas:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

The National Curriculum comprises the subjects:

  • English,
  • Mathematics,
  • Science,
  • Information Technology,
  • Design and Technology,
  • History,
  • Geography,
  • Music,
  • Art, and
  • Physical Education.

Religious Education is offered to all pupils.  

In line with the syllabus, we have a daily act of worship.  Parents have the right to withdraw children from RE and the daily assembly if they wish.  Alternative provision can be made.

We use the Social and Emotional Aspects of Learning, (SEAL), materials to deliver many aspects of the PSHE and Citizenship which are taught from Foundation Stage to Year 6. Although it remains a non-statutory element of the National Curriculum, Wrekin View Primary School considers it to be necessary in terms of developing the child through a broad and balanced curriculum and ensuring emotional well-being for each child.

Teachers plan lessons which link to all curriculum areas.  We promote independent learning and teachers use a variety of learning styles ensuring all children have equal access to the curriculum.  We also recognise the importance of enriching the curriculum through visits, trips and experiences, both in school and out.  The teaching and learning in the curriculum is also enhanced by the use of ICT in each classroom.

A full, carefully planned and balanced programme of learning is offered at all levels for each child.  The curriculum is under general review at all times and our resource needs are similarly appraised.  As children move through the school the activities planned for them are planned to be progressively more demanding within a framework that promotes continuity.